Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘Paranormal Romance’

I’ll be appearing at HallowRead 2015 in Elllicott City, Maryland on October 23 and 24. Lots of ghostly fun and information for readers and writers alike including panels, workshops, ghost tours, book signings, author chats, a haunted house, and more.

The fine folks of HallowRead have put together a great video promoting the event. Here’s the video link to take a look.

Hope to see you there!

Advertisements

Read Full Post »

rachel rawlings Thanks to dark paranormal, urban-fantasy, and horror author Rachel Rawlings, for stopping by and introducing us to her newest novel, Ill Fated, Book 5 in The Maurin Kincaide Series.

Ill Fated, Book 5 in The Maurin Kincaide Series by Rachel Rawlings

Here’s the cover blurb:

ill fated “Some things are destined to end in death. After the first attempt on her life Maurin wasn’t scared. Hell, she was almost flattered. But someone put a price on her head and things are getting complicated. Trouble is brewing in the fae courts and it’s spilling over into Salem. The UnSeelie Dark Guard have answered the call for her head on a platter and people closest to her are disappearing.

Morrigna cover 6x9 Can Maurin master court politics and find her missing men before someone claims the bounty on her head?”

Since this is Book 5, most readers will want to check out the earlier books in The Maurin Kincaide Series: The Morrigna (book 1), Witch Hunt (book 2), Wolfsbane (book 3), and Blood Bath (book 4). You can see the fabulously creepy covers here.

Witch Hunt cover 6x9 Besides writing a series of novels, Rachel is Founder of the HallowRead Convention for fans of Paranormal Urban Fantasy, Steam Punk and Horror – which is how I came to know her.

HallowRead is a wonderful convention to be held again this year in Ellicott City, Maryland on the weekend before Halloween. If you’re into Ghost Tours, Steampunk Teas, panels on vampires, myth, and undead of all sorts – check out the HallowRead website, Facebook page, and blog. I’ll be participating on panels and signing books, along with lots of other writers of dark fantasy and horror – so stop by and say, “Hi.”

Wolfsbane cover 1 Rachel is also the Co-Coordinator of Magnolias and Mausoleums, an author/reader event in New Orleans to be held July 22-26, 2015. I’ve visited New Orleans, assorted Louisiana and Mississippi towns on the edge of the bayou, and a number of cemeteries and burial sites in the area where magnolias and mausoleums rule. I imagine this event will be a spooky good time for fans and writers of urban fantasy, horror, and ghostly tales. For more information, visit www.magnoliasandmausoleums.com

Want to learn more about Rachel Rawlings and her books? Check out her website and The Maurin Kincaide Facebook page, and follow her on twitter.

blood bath And you can buy Rachel’s books from Amazon.

Thanks again to Rachel Rawlings for stopping by. Watch Whimsical Words for more Monday Guests, Quotable Wednesdays, Saturday Owl Posts, blogs from me, and more. Have a darkly mysterious day! – Vonnie

Read Full Post »

cat miller Welcome to vampire paranormal romance writer, Cat Miller. Her newest novel, Unbound, The Forbidden Bond Series (Book 1), was just published by Montlake Romance. The novel is available in Audio Book, eBook, and Print formats.

Vampire fans, are you wondering what Unbound is about? Here’s the synopsis:

“College is supposed to be a time of discovery, but Danielle Vaughn never imaged it would be like this: heightened senses, supernatural powers, and a sudden craving for human blood. Dani is a demi-vamp, the daughter of a human psychic and a vampire noble, a living secret kept hidden for twenty-one ears.

Miller_Unbound_frntcvr_final As Dani’s heritage manifests itself, her thirst for blood is matched only by her hunger for Chase Diedrick. But as the son of the Vampire Council’s most powerful ruling family, Chase is already promised to another. Dani saw Council politics destroy her mother’s life; she won’t let the same thing happen to her. Besides, there’s no shortage of men who are eager to satisfy her every need, including the alluring vampire Kayden.

Unfortunately, Dani also has no shortage of enemies. Her heightened powers of telepathy and telekinesis attract the attention of a rogue vamp who preys on gifted vampires, absorbing their skills along with their lifeblood. Now, Dani must seek the Council’s help to quickly master her new vampire life…or risk losing it.”

Here’s a peek at the book trailer for Unbound.

Born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland, author Cat Miller now lives in Perry Hall, Maryland. She’s an avid reader who loves all genre of romantic fiction from historical to contemporary to paranormal. Sleeping has always been a problem for her, so most nights Cat can be found in the living room reading or writing instead of in bed like the rest of the world. She loves creating the characters readers love and love to hate! She says her characters remind her of people she knows, and people she wishes she’d never known.

Keep up with Cat at her Website or
Facebook Author PageFacebook Personal Page,
Goodreads, G+ Twitter.

Buy her books from Amazon.

Thanks to Cat Miller for stopping by. Watch Whimsical Words for more Monday Guests, Quotable Wednesdays, blogs from me, and occasional weekend Readers & Writers Recipes. Have a magical day – Vonnie

Read Full Post »

Thanks to Rachel MacNeill Rawlings for allowing me to reprint a post she wrote for One Story Slinger about the process of planning HallowRead. I will be among the authors participating on panels and signing books on Saturday, Oct. 26. I hope to see some of you there.  HallowRead will be held the weekend of Fri., Oct. 25 through Sun., Oct. 27.    For more information including tickets, please visit the links at the end of this post.

hallowread_red

HallowRead – The Process of Planning a Panel

By Rachel MacNeill Rawlings, author and founder of HallowRead

The panels for HallowRead, much like the event itself happened organically. From the get go I wanted all of the participating authors to be involved in the panel process. After all, if they’re not excited about the topic, no one will have a good time. Readers want to see energetic and engaging authors when attending panels. The best way to achieve that is to have the authors engaged in the process of planning a panel. This is our first year, and nearly everything about HallowRead is different from other conventions. Since I cold-called the majority of authors attending this year, we didn’t have a panel submission process. What we did have was an open discussion in the author group I created on FaceBook. I started a few threads in the group asking the authors what topics they wanted to talk about, some were more vocal than others — and I mean that in a good way! From there we expanded on those ideas, and I would post names and descriptions for the panels asking for their opinions and often adjusting according to their suggestions. Twenty plus creative minds really are better than one.

One of my favorite parts about the panels for HallowRead is the different locations. The town and its eclectic mix of business owners and residents really become a part of the event, because the authors and attendees will be moving through the historic district. A unique feature made possible by the close proximity of each location. Comfy shoes are still encouraged. All of the buildings hosting a panel – from the Trolley Stop, known in its past life as the Bloody Bucket, to Cacao Lane and Diamond Back Tavern – have a haunted history, making them the perfect backdrop for our authors and panel topics.

A panel that isn’t really a panel? That’s kind of how I feel about the SteamPunk Tea. Friday October 25th, several SteamPunk authors will be taking over Tea On The Tiber. Dressed in full garb, Victorian high tea isn’t the only thing on the menu. Authors will be moving throughout the two tea rooms reading from their novels and talking about this unique genre of fiction. A separate ticket is required but well worth the low price of admission which does include a full tea service.

And last but certainly not least is the swag! Door prizes and give-aways are the concurrent theme for the HallowRead panels. Authors have all sorts of fun things to give away. Have a burning question? It just might score you a free book or signed swag!

Whatever you fancy, Horror, Paranormal Romance, Dark Fantasy, SteamPunk, we’ve got a panel for that! So come out and join us. At HallowRead the authors are dying to meet you!

For more information about the HallowRead and/or author Rachel MacNeill Rawlings work visit the following sites:

www.hallowread.com
www.facebook.com/Hallowread
http://www.hallowread.blogspot.com/
http://www.hallowread.eventbrite.com/

http://www.rachelrawlings.com/
http://www.facebook.com/TheMaurinKincaideSerie

And make sure to follow Rachel on Twitter: @rachelsbooks

Thanks to Rachel MacNeill Rawlings for sharing her HallowRead planning experiences. Look for more guest posts, including a special Halloween series on Whimsical Words. Have a magical weekend – Vonnie

Read Full Post »